top of page

What's in my Hot Girl* Summer Tote Bag

by Raegan Cleary


As seen in our fifth print issue "Summer Heat", available now!


All hot people carry canvas totes, that’s a fact. As much as I love a cute little handbag, sometimes they don’t always get the job done, especially now that most summer adventures can resume (as long as you’re vaxxed, obvi). While this will vary on the person and the activity, here’s what I keep in mine to ensure I’m ready for whatever hot b*tch summer will bring.

*Editor’s note: while I identify as a woman and will be referring to my personal tote bag set up as my “hot girl summer” tote, anyone regardless of gender identity can be hot and carry a canvas tote.

The Bag

The key ingredient in my hot girl summer tote, is the bag itself. Not only do I love the NEWSPRINT tote from the RUiNStore ($15) as a way to plug the zine but it’s super roomy and can fit all my hot girl necessities.

Water Bottle

Staying hydrated is key to having a hot person summer. I love the Corckcicle 16 oz classic canteen in rose quartz. Not only is this reusable bottle super cute, but it can also keep drinks cold for 25 hours, or hot for 12. The wide-mouth lid means you don’t have to put up a fight to get ice cubes in. You can even fit a whole bottle of wine or a fifth in the 25 oz size and two bottles of wine, or a handle in the 60 oz size because glass is the last thing you’re gonna want to worry about at the beach or on a picnic.

Snacks

While most of my hot girl summer activities involve food, having a snack just in case doesn’t hurt either. Normally I throw whatever is around into my bag, but some of my favorite portable snacks include dried unsweetened mango or Clif Bars-- I highly recommend the Peanut Butter & Honey with Sea Salt flavor.

PMILK

PMILK is an acronym that stands for Phone, Money, ID, Lipgloss, and Keys. I saw it in a Seventeen magazine article 10 years ago and ever since then I always repeat it to myself before going anywhere. Most of that is pretty self-explanatory but on my keys, I have a personal alarm, and when situations allow pepper spray because self-defense is hot. As for lip products, I love Dr. Lip Bang’s Lip Freak Buzzing Lip Balm and the ColourPop x Lizzie McGuire So Juicy Gloss.

Daily Medication/ TUMs / Pain Reliever/ Extra Tampon

Girl Scouts taught me to always be prepared. While taking any daily medication with you seems like a no-brainer, you never realize how important it is to carry other things like Advil or an extra tampon until you ~really~ need them. Not to mention your friends will be eternally grateful for saving the day.

Book & Airpods

Depending on the occasion I don’t always carry these with me but they definitely come in handy during an impromptu trip to the park. Try to name something better than reading a book in the shade on a hot summer day-- you really can’t. Currently, I’m reading Front Row: Anna Wintour: What Lies Beneath the Chic Exterior of Vogue's Editor in Chief by Jerry Oppenheimer. If I’m not reading you can find me listening to RUiN’s Summer Heat Playlist or my favorite podcast at the moment The Candle Coven, where married couple and Bijou Candles co-owners Alaina and Jocelyn talk pop culture and the fabulous ladies that inspire their candle scents.


Want to keep up with RUiN? Check out our Instagram, @ruin.mag for the latest.

bottom of page